Forums

Python Script to Modify mySQL Database

I inputted several rows of information into a mySQL database. I realized that in one column where I put in URLS, all of them had "https" rather than "http".

I thought it would be easier to write a Python script to edit them. I'm using SQLAlchemy to interact with the database. I am a newbie at all of this, and was wondering if someone would point me to a description of how to do this.

Here are some questions I had:

1. Do I still do "from flask import Flask" to begin?
  2. Do I still have the app = Flask(name)?
  3. Im my Flask_py.py file, I have the "class XXXX (db.Models):" and then describe the table. Do I do that in the second file (the script to modify the changes?
  4. Where can I find examples of code to do mySQL changes?

Sorry to ask so many questions. I appreciate any help.

If you're using the Flask-SQLAlchemy plugin in your Flask app, and you want the code to look as similar as possible to the code you're used to (which is a good idea!) then:

1. Yes, you'll need that
  2. ...and that too. There's no harm in creating a Flask object outside a web app, and it's needed for the Flask-SQLAlchemy plugin.
  3. You can do that, but it would be better to move all of the database stuff out to its own module so that you can import that both from the website code and from the migration code. If that sounds really hard to you, and if this migration script is a throwaway thing that you're going to delete afterwards, then there's no real problem in the duplication for now. But if you're planning to keep it around then splitting things out into separate modules is probably the best way forward.