Forums

[Errno 111] Connection refused

[admin update 2013-10-28: see the wiki section on email/smtp]

I am totally new at Django and while using its 'send_mail' function, I get this error: [Errno 111] Connection refused I think that's the issue with the firewall.

Our firewall shouldn't block anything like that going out from PythonAnywhere. What do you have in the email server settings (like EMAIL_HOST and EMAIL_USE_TLS) in your settings.py?

settings.py doesn't have anything related to email. The default email host is set as 'localhost'.'EMAIL_USE_TLS' is set as 'false'. I am using: send_mail(data['subject'],data['message'],data['email'], ['myemail@**.com'])

Ah, right. We don't provide an SMTP server right now (it would make it too easy for spammers to use us), so you'll need to specify one in EMAIL_HOST. Do you have access to one that you can use?

Oh.I will use my own. Thank you.

Hi I have the same problem, but I don't have access to an SMTP server -any suggestions appreciated. Preferably free :) I'd only need to send a very low volume

@signalstrength You can use Gmail's SMTP server. I searched for you and found: http://www.jangosmtp.com/Pricing.asp If you can provide convincing reason for mailing(testing?), I could share my SMTP server.

As Aatishnn said the easiest public SMTP server to use would probably be gmail's. You can configure it to accept emails from addresses other than your own. Good instructions are here: http://support.google.com/mail/bin/answer.py?hl=en&answer=22370

@aatishnn ah great thanks I'll try Gmail. jangosmtp.com also looks interesting. I'd just be using it to experiment and for learning purposes, wouldn't ask to share anyone's for such things! Thanks again

@hansel thanks :)

Hi, I'm getting the same exception, I didn't setup or change any mail settings, but I'm making calls to the twitter API.

Hi iahvector,