Forums

Django 403 error

Newbie here, I have this app on PA. Everything works as expected when debug is set to True. But when I set Debug to False to go into production, Every post request gives a "Forbidden (403) CSRF verification failed. Request aborted. " also media files are not accessible through templates. What am i doing wrong?

I suspect you need to set the ALLOWED_HOSTS parameter in your settings.py. It's a list of the hostnames you expect your app to be accessed using, eg:

ALLOWED_HOSTS = ["www.mydomain.com"]

It's ignored in DEBUG = True mode, but when DEBUG = False, any request that hits your website that doesn't use a hostname in that list gets 403ed. And the list is empty by default.

Yes i did set the allowed host to my domain. Maybe you could take a look at the file if you could. It's loverspub. I even went as far as setting the allowed domain to the wildcard.

ALLOWED_HOSTS = ["*"].

Also, could you walk me through how to serve media files in production?

Ah, sorry, I read your original post too quickly and missed the "every post request" bit.

I see that you've got the hidden csrfmiddlewaretoken input there, so that should work. Hmm -- hang on, when I did my first attempt to access a POST view on your site, I got the error, but it's suddenly started working -- did you change something?

It looks like your media files are being served up correctly -- you're using the "Static files" table, which is the right way. Do you have an example of a media file that's failing to load? Or, perhaps, have you fixed that part of it since you posted your last message?

nope. That happens to me too. sometimes it works and sometimes it just doesn't work. I haven't fixed a thing there yet. When i make a post request through the bootstrap modal, It works perfectly. However when i use Template requests, it doesn't. and then sometimes it just works and then stops the next moment