Forums

Delegate my name server

I'm tried to delegate my name server(saurus.pythonanywhere.com), but onlydomains.com requires me to at least 2 name server.How can i find second name server?

I'm by no means an expert in DNS but the recommended way of redirecting your domain is to create a subdomain (e.g. www) as a CNAME to your site at PAW (e.g. saurus.pythonanywhere.com) - I'm not sure delegating a domain will work because it would presumably require the PAW nameservers to respond to requests for your domain instead of your PAW subdomain? I'm sure one of the staff will jump in if I'm wrong in my understanding.

Assuming that's the case, you shouldn't need to provide nameservers for a CNAME record because it's effectively just a redirect. See this post for more information about DNS setups.

Anyway, if you're trying to do something I haven't grasped then, in case it's useful, PAW seems to have three authoritative nameservers:

a.ns.joker.com
b.ns.joker.com
c.ns.joker.com

@saurus -- Cartroo's right, you shouldn't change your name server. Instead, you should set up your existing name server so that it has a CNAME for your domain that points to saurus.pythonanywhere.com. Which domain name registrar do you use? I might be able to point you at the appropriate part of their documentation.

I use onlydomains.com

OK, it looks like you need to do something like this (I've adapted it from their FAQ about using Google Apps):

1. Click on Your Registered Domains under the ‘Domains’ section
  2. Select the desired domain to change or click the cog icon under ‘Setup DNS’ to the right of the domain name.
  3. Select Setup/Edit DNS Zone Records
  4. Enter your desired host, for example, If you would like www.yourdomain.com enter ‘www’ into the ‘Host’ field.
  5. From the ‘Type’ dropdown menu select CNAME, Then under ‘Content’ enter ‘saurus.pythonanywhere.com’
  6. Press Add to add this record.