Forums

Database user access is denied on DB restore

I'm pretty new at working with databases and I have hit a small snag while attempting to setup my MySQL db.

I was successfully using a sqlite db but I wanted to make my flask site a little more robust so I have been converting everything over to a local mysql db. Everything is working fine locally but I am not quite understanding the role of users I'm afraid. Here's what's going on:

I have a mysql database created here (pythonanywhere) and I was trying to do a restore on it from my local db dump but when I tried it I got this error: ERROR 1044 (42000) at line 22: Access denied for user '<myusername>'@'%' to database '<my database>'

I had created a user with all privileges on my local database but the name was different from my user name here. I thought I might need to create an identical user in my local database so that they match but that didn't seem to help.

When I created the local user I did:

sql CREATE USER '<my-pythonanywhere-username>'@'%' IDENTIFIED BY <password>;

I then granted that one all privileges.

I know I'm probably missing something small but I think it would help to know how users should be handled in my local database (assuming that is what is causing my error).

Personally I would have different usernames and passwords for local dev versus your live environment, just to reduce the risk that running a test locally would try to connect to the live database and cause trouble -- as you presumably already have code that allows you to change the database hostname when you're running in the two environments, changing the username should not be too much of a big step away from that.

However, that's kind of an aside, because if the local restore doesn't work with the same username on both sides, it's unlikely to work with different usernames!