Forums

'unhanded exception' error when browsing to website

Hi,

I've set up my first web and and have configured the wsgi file (correctly I think). When I browse to my website however I get the above message. If I leave the wsgi unchanged from default I get the hello world message. Any ideas of what I'm doing wrong?

(Complete newbie here so please be gentle :) )

Many thanks

Philip

The best way to debug this kind of thing is to look at your server logs. There are links to them on the web app page; for the "unhandled exception" message, the one called something like "jingscrivvens.pythonanywhere.com.server.log" is likely to be the best place to look -- check out whatever's at the bottom and see if that points you in the right direction.

Thanks for that Giles. I checked the error log and it seems to be having trouble finding my settings file - here's the error message:

Could not import settings 'inverness_merchants_project.settings' (Is it on sys.path?): No module named inverness_merchants_project.settings

My .wysg file contains the following which all looks ok. What else do I need to check?

path = '/home/JingsCrivvens/the-merchant/inverness_merchants_project' if path not in sys.path: sys.path.append(path)

os.environ['DJANGO_SETTINGS_MODULE'] = 'inverness_merchants_project.settings'

import django.core.handlers.wsgi application = django.core.handlers.wsgi.WSGIHandler()

Many thanks Phil

Can I take a look at your files? It might be easier to debug that way.

sure - do you need me to do anything to enable that?

Nope, just need your permission. Looking now...