Forums

Second Attempt at Forking my App to PythonAnywhere: Failed again...

+++FIXED+++FIXED+++FIXED+++FIXED+++FIXED+++FIXED+++FIXED+++FIXED+++FIXED+++FIXED

I failed at creating my first app. Being a raw noob, I gathered all the tutorials and forum posts I found and very carefully wrote down every step I followed as if doing ort of a tutorial for myself, since I plan on host with PythonAnywhere soon.

Nevertheless, I failed again. I am getting an Unhandled Exception and I cannot understand the error log:

I'd really appreciate help in trying to identify what is it that I'm doing wrong. These are my notes, 99% of it is copied from tutorials and other posts, which I though would be helpful to have in a single location:

1 Setup my environment and virtual environment

1.1 Log in to PythonAnywhere, and create a new Web app:

1.2 Go to the "Web" tab.

1.3 Select the "Add a new web app" option on the left-hand side.

1.4 If you have a Web Developer account, specify the domain you want your web app to appear on, then click "Next"

1.5 Select the "Manual configuration" option from the list.

1.6 Click "Next", and wait for the system to tell you that the web app has been created.

1.7 Check I have a web app -- go to nimbiotics.pythonanywhere.com to see the simple site that was generated.

1.8 Edit .bashrc to contain the following line:

source virtualenvwrapper.sh

1.9 Open a bash console. If you already have a bash console running, you have to source your bash by typing:

16:37 ~ $ source ~/.bashrc

1.10 Create the virtualenv:

18:23 ~/projects $ mkvirtualenv nrpccms
New python executable in nrpccms/bin/python2.7
Also creating executable in nrpccms/bin/python
Installing setuptools............done.
Installing pip...............done.

1.11 You can check it works -- the prompt should show the (nrpccms) prefix, and you can check which pip returns the virtualenv pip:

(nrpccms)20:01 ~ $ which pip
/home/nimbiotics/.virtualenvs/nrpccms/bin/pip

2 Fork project from git repository