Forums

Launch/Run a PA script from IFTTT/DO button

Newbie here so apologies if this has already been answered somewhere.

I want PythonAnywhere to run a Python script with the press of the 'DO Button' app on my iPhone. I think it's possible to send GET or POST http requests via the Maker channel on the 'DO Button' side, so it comes down to whether PA can pick that up and run a python script.

Possible?

Thx in advance.

That's pretty easy.

Go to the web tab. Create a Flask web app. If you look in the files it's pretty obvious what you have to do. (It's worthwhile learning Flask, as you'll quickly discover 101 things that made better by adding a simple webhook.)

Great. Looking into Flask and it seems to be what I need. Thanks!

Hi, guys. I have the same problem. Is it possible to contact you in private? Ojsaito, did you solve the problem? If yes, how? I really need this!

Edit: if someone sees this post and know the answer, please reply. Thanks

Hi bluebuffalo,

It's pretty easy to trigger a script via IFTTT.

Go to the web app tab on PythonAnywhere. Create a new flask app. Put your script inside the flask app:

So:

@app.route("/myscript")
def myscript():
    # Put your script here
    return "Hello World!"

And then use the IFTTT Maker channel to point to http://bluebuffalo.pythonanywhere.com/myscript

And that's literally it. I control half my house via IFTTT, Flask and PythonAnywhere

Thanks

Hi rcs1000, thank you very much! I even don't know how but I have done something similar today! I used a function and configured IFTTT webhooks with POST request. I think I'm going to do things right.