Forums

I can write a python app... and have people access it from my site/

Hello, I'm a complete amateur at django and web programming period. I have my own domain and hosting with another site but the hosting plan I'm on doesn't support ruby on rails or django and as I was searching alternatives, found this place.

Could someone clarify for me if it's possible to run a django web application written in pythonanywhere on my site?

Thanks.

Just to clarify, I'm a fellow user of the site rather than a developer / admin - hopefully I can answer your question, I'm sure one of the devs will jump in if I've got anything wrong!

This site provides an online interface to edit and run Python code, both from the command-line and as a web application. So, you can certainly develop and host your Django web application here.

As to your specific question, I'm not totally certain of what you mean by "on your site" but if I understand correctly PA can do what you want. What you can do is host your web application here and have it appear as part of your domain. To do this, you set up a CNAME alias of your domain to point to your PA site, for example such that www.example.com points to geoffmangman.pythonanywhere.com. This means that anyone going to http:\\www.example.com will have their request served by your PA web app. Don't worry if it sounds complicated, it really isn't and there are plenty of people here who can help you set it up.

If that's what you want, that's one of PA's core functions, although doing that with your own domain requires a paid "web developer" account on PA (at present, $12 US per month). You can, of course, use your free account while you get things working if you want to play around and see if you like the interface first. Also, the PA devs offer a no-quibble 30-day refund if you get a paid account and the find the service doesn't meet your needs.