Forums

web2py - refreshing python script on page refresh

Hi, I'm very new to python and web2py so possibly not using the correct language to describe what I'm after but here goes...

In my web2py app I have a python module that generates a random quote from a Google spreadsheet (using gspread). I've managed to get so far as displaying the random quote in my web2py app. I've added in an html 'refresh' button to the page, but when I refresh the page the quote stays the same. How do I make the python script run again each time I refresh the page?

I have tried adding session.forget(response) to the default.py controller but this doesn't seem to have done anything.

I also tried adding from gluon.custom_import import track_changes; track_changes(True) to the db.py model and this doesn't seem to have done anything either.

I'm not quite sure why you need to store the quote in the session at all - surely you can just fetch it and put it in the response page without storing it anywhere? That will ensure it will change every time the page is being refreshed, provided your browser isn't caching it.

+1 to what Cartroo says, that sounds like the right way to do it -- unless we're missing something...?

I don't know if it's being stored or not. I don't really get how it works! It seems like it's being cached or stored and I want to stop this from happening so that a new quote is shown on page refresh. What code do I put where?

Perhaps it would help if we looked at your code -- could you point us at the URL where the quote appears? And can I look at the source code in your account? Or perhaps you could post the code here?

So my module is this:

import gspread
import random

gc = gspread.login('username','password')
sh = gc.open_by_key('spreadsheet_key')
worksheet = sh.sheet1

values_list = worksheet.col_values(2)
range_end = len(values_list)

random_number = random.randint(2, range_end)

while worksheet.cell(random_number, 5).value != "yes" :