Forums

Question about certain statements in Flask Error Log

I've got a small web app going in Flask. This is my first time doing this. I really love PAW, it makes it so easy! The app basically hits another service for data, slices and formats it and responds to the querying device with the formatted data. Most of the error log has the following line.

2013-05-01 22:41:53,491 :Starting new HTTP connection (1): proxy.server

Is this showing the connection going out to the other data service to get data or is this related to the incoming connection request?

The above statement is what I see mostly in the log. Every now and again I see the below. What does it mean? Should I be concerned? Is there something I should do to not get these errors?

2013-05-01 22:42:15,544 :IOError: write error
2013-05-01 22:42:15,544 :Traceback (most recent call last):
2013-05-01 22:42:15,544 :TypeError: unable to set HTTP status line

Thank you for any guidance.

The host proxy.server is the PA proxy server. As a free account holder, you're restricted to only making outgoing requests to sites on the whitelist. The PA developers consider requests for additions to this list so feel free to ask if the site you want to use isn't on there.

If you're using one of the standard HTTP libraries, chances are they've detected the proxy server from the http_proxy environment variable which PA sets for you - from the log message you posted above, it appears that's the case, so you shouldn't need to configure the proxy anywhere (indeed you shouldn't configure it, using it from the environment variable is the correct approach).