Forums

where does console appear after pressing save and run button, using chrome OS

Hi, all. I'm a newbie to python and pythonanywhere... so I've a really basic question!

In a new file, I typed in the simple command print "hello, world"

I then hit the save and run button, and the screen refreshes but no console appears. (I do allow popups from pythonanywhere.com, btw)

I tried manually opening a console, which runs like a line at a time interpreter so it seems fine, but the output of my program doesn't show up there either.

I use a chromebook using chrome OS. This setup works for a friend of mine, we are learning python together. Any help would be appreciated.

thanks, NT

Hmmm. It should pop up in a separate browser tab. When you say "this setup works for a friend of mine", is your friend also using a Chromebook?

Wait a moment... I see from my console page that there IS a console by the same name as my file! I click on it, and it opens up a console in [the same] tab, but labelled as the program file instead of console.

And now when I save and run my program, a popup window shows the results.

huh. I don't get it, but it does the job :-)

If anyone can tell me what I'm doing that's off so that I can streamline this process, I'd still appreciate some input.

Thanks again. NT

@ntelliheart: I'd like to welcome both you and your friend to PA...☺

You might have seen the same behaviour as I saw in Chrome, which is that when you first hit the Save and Run button you get a blocked pop-up notification. Then you allow popups and try again - this time no error, but no popup either. However, if you browse away to a different page (e.g. back to the file list) and then go back to the file editor and try Save and Run again then it seems to work fine.