Forums

Bash console bugs or it's just me?

I think i've found some bash console bugs. Or maybe it's because I'm a console noob. You decide.

1) On Mac 10.8.2 using Safari 6.0.2 i can't paste to console. Cmd + Shift + V does not work. However if I use Paste from Safari's dropdown menu it works.

2) While setting up a Django project I'm asked to enter my email address.

I've written the first part of my email address. Now I must type the @ charachter and then the domain. console

This is what appears when i type the @ character (obtained by pressing Alt + "button with @ inside") console

If I try to move the console cursor using Left Arrow it adds even more wrong characters and the cursor doesn't move so I'm stuck. console

Fortunately I managed to solve by pasting my email address. However I think those bugs should be corrected.

Hello,

Re the paste thing, it's because the console has no 'control' over your clipboard. So, when you press CMD-Shift-V, it goes to the console, not to the OSX for the clipboard. I believe there is a key combination that works, but I don't know what it is...

Re the '@' symbol, I'm using OS X 10.8.2 on a US MBP, and have no problem getting '@', which is SHIFT-2. Are you using an unusual keyboard layout? If you tell the developers what you're using they are almost certainly able to fix it for you.

Thanks

Robert

Thanks for your reply. I'm using my iMac and my Macbook with Italian QWERTY keyboard layout. Here you can see it: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Keyboard_layout#Italian

Steve