Forums

Headless Selenium report - NoSuchElementException

Hi, Beginner here, I am trying to run a daily report which requires logging into a webpage, so I am using selenium to get where I need to go, the script works locally but to get it onto PythonAnywhere I need to use pyvirtualdisplay. I have installed the version for python 3.4 but selenium is hitting the error below:

selenium.common.exceptions.NoSuchElementException: Message: 'Unable to locate element: {"method":"name","selector":"username"}'

As the program works locally I assume I am doing something incorrectly with pyvirtualdisplay, I have added in a fair number of wait_implicitlys and time.sleeps to allow plenty of space for the display to get up and running.

from selenium import webdriver
from selenium.webdriver.common.keys import Keys
import time

from pyvirtualdisplay import Display
display = Display(visible=0, size=(1024, 768))
time.sleep(5)
display.start()
time.sleep(5)
driver = webdriver.Firefox()

driver.get('http://www.touchoffice.net/')

driver.implicitly_wait(30)

username = driver.find_element_by_name("username")
password = driver.find_element_by_name("password")

Any advice to get this working?

Free accounts on PythonAnywhere can only make outbound requests to sites on our whitelist, and -- if you look at the body text of the page you're getting back from that driver.get call you'll almost certainly see that it contains an error message regarding that, which is why there's no "username" field on it.

Paid accounts can access any site they like, so if you upgrade it will work. We can also add sites to the whitelist if they have an official public API, though I don't see one on http://www.touchoffice.net/.

Ace cheers, I will set up a paid account then and see if it works.

Thank you for the assistance.

No problem -- and thanks for upgrading!

Hi, I have exactly the same issue but with the website https://www.trainline.eu/signin.