Forums

sqlalchemy.exc.OperationalError: (OperationalError) (2006, 'MySQL server has gone away')

The above error occurs every time I access my site after about 5 to 30 minutes. I am using Flask and SQLAlchemy. (Secondary question: should I be using ‘Flask-SQLAlchemy’ instead of SQLAlchemy and Flask together? If so, why?) I have my code in two files. The file ‘models.py’ creates the SQLAlchemy engine with the following: engine = create_engine('mysql+mysqldb://user:password@jhyman.mysql.pythonanywhere-services.com', pool_recycle=299, echo=True). I got the value 299 from a post on the forum. My Flask code with the request handlers is in a separate file ‘views.py’. Occasionally, I get a slightly different error message.

I’ve looked at many posts on StackExchange and PythonAnywhere, but have not been able to solve the problem. This is my first time using SQLAlchemy and Flask. Any help would be appreciated. If more information is needed, let me know.

Flask-sqlalchemy is a convenient way to use sqlalchemy from flask. From their web site: "It aims to simplify using SQLAlchemy with Flask by providing useful defaults and extra helpers that make it easier to accomplish common tasks."

As to the pool recycle: 299 may be a little too close to 300, for the connection handling. Other users have reported success with 280.

Hi Glenn, Thank you for your reply. Changing pool recycle to 280 didn't seem to change anything. Do you have any other suggestions? Thanks, Joe

Hhmm. That's weird. Do you have a single request that may take more than 5 min?

My requests simply read or write a few lines of text from or to the database. So unless I have an error that I am not aware of, the requests should be very short. Thanks.

Is there any way you might be caching connections between requests? For example:

connection = None

@app.route("/x")
def foo():
    global connection
    connection = engine.connect()
    # do something with connection

@app.route("/y")
def bar():