Forums

Accessing Media Root

First off, PA rocks.

I'm a noob and trying to figure out how best to handle user uploaded content.

I have my static files serving up nicely and can access them through the "/static/' url.

I also have the MEDIA_ROOT set and am having no problems with files uploading to the right place from the django admin. I just don't know enough to access them. The 404 I get lists the possible urls and my MEDIA_URL isn't one of them. What's the best way to create a url that lets me access user uploaded media files?

MEDIA_ROOT = '/home/jeanpierrehill/Dropbox/PythonAnywhere/lapp/media/' MEDIA_URL = '/media/'

Does not work - http://jeanpierrehill.pythonanywhere.com/media/img/avatars/jp.jpeg

I know relatively little about Django but does this SO post help at all?

Is Django serving your static files, or are you using the sort-of-not-quite-documented static file support, which uses nginx to serve the files directly?

In the former case, I can't see any issues so I can only assume that your Django URL config may need updating (see the SO post I linked above for that). In the latter case, nothing else but static will work right now, so you'd need to make it a subdirectory of that, or use Django's file-serving instead.

EDIT: Oh, the only other issue I could imagine might be if the files created by the web application (i.e. uploaded) don't have permissions to allow them to be served by the same application - this would need some quite odd permissions configuration, however.

We are in the process of implementing proper (user defined locations) static file support. In the mean time you could create a symbolic link between your media url and the default static file location which is /var/www/static. Something like this should work.

In a Bash console:

ln -s /home/jeanpierrehill/Dropbox/PythonAnywhere/lapp/media/ /var/www/static/media

Then http://jeanpierrehill.pythonanywhere.com/media/img/avatars/jp.jpeg would work as expected.