Forums

Try to run a Textparser

Hi!

I do try to run a textparser python script (its an email content generator actually) that somebody wrote for me but I can not get it to run.

It runs perfectly locally on my Mac with Python 2.7.5 I have uploaded all files at the cloud and I tried various attempts but not even one suceeded. Can somebody here take me by the hand and lead me through the streets of pythonanywhere to get it to run? I am a newbie here and in python either.

Thanks much!

What error message(s) do you get when you run it?

bash: guinewsreader.py: command not found Console closed.

How are you trying to run it?

You should try a Scheduled Task. Dashboard>>schedule

1. Put the file in a folder somewhere like /home/newspool/scripts
  2. In the scheduled task enter the location of your script /home/newspool/scripts/guinewsreader.py
  3. Set the time a minute after the current time to test if it does work.
  4. You can click on the "view log" link to see if its executed and/or if it displays any errors

Well, actually I do not know how to run it. Tried to call the file.py in a console and also tried to call http://myusername.pythonanywhere.com/script.py - with this I get page not found

@leapfrog content of https://www.pythonanywhere.com/user/newspool/files/var/log/tasklog-21683-daily-at-2004-_.home.newspool.guinewsreader.py.log

bash: /home/newspool/guinewsreader.py: Permission denied 2015-11-25 20:04:06 -- Completed task, took 0.00 seconds, return code was 126.

add a "python" or "python3.4" to the beginning of the scheduled task command? eg

python /home/newspool/scripts/guinewsreader.py

instead of just home/newspool/scripts/guinewsreader.py

ok, this is what I got in the log fle:

--snip--

Traceback (most recent call last):
      File "/home/newspool/guinewsreader.py", line 103, in <module>
        main()
      File "/home/newspool/guinewsreader.py", line 85, in main
        root = tk.Tk()