Forums

HTTP Response Empty

I have set up an API that almost works perfectly. I POST a video to the server and GET a text file from it. Locally it works great, but now that I have this set up on PythonAnywhere, only the POST works. The user side is supposed to have a HTTPResponseMessage with a text file in it that they receive, but there is no response. Do I need to change my code in order to receive a response from PythonAnywhere? I'm sorry if this is a dumb question, I am a newbie and don't know where to look.

Code below is in C#. "MYSITE" is just a placeholder for me to post here

var response = await client.PostAsync("http://MYSITE.pythonanywhere.com", multipartFormContent);
var animation_data = await response.Content.ReadAsStringAsync();

[edit by admin: formatting]

Check in your code that you are actually returning a response. You can add debug prints to your code to see what is happening. Prints to stderr will appear in your error log.

I am getting a response? I guess. In the access log, I get this line...

1**.*.***.*** - - [22/Sep/2022:18:30:41 +0000] "GET /uploads/AnimationFile.txt HTTP/1.1" 404 207 "-" "-" "1**.*.***.***" response-time=0.005

And then on the user side, it does receive a text file, but instead of receiving the proper data, it receives the following.

<!doctype html>
<html lang=en>
<title>404 Not Found</title>
<h1>Not Found</h1>
<p>The requested URL was not found on the server. If you entered the URL manually please check your spelling and try again.</p>

So, I guess I don't know what that means in this regard. How can the URL not be found if I just posted to it a few lines before?

As for your debugging suggestion using print, how can I debug a return line in Python?

return redirect(url_for('download_file', name="AnimationFile.txt"))

And sorry again if these are dumb questions, I'm fairly new to this.