Forums

How to manipulate csv files

Hi Experts,

I am new to Python, i have 1000+ rows in my csv file there am having Data for the different Dates, each Dates Contains more than 100 values, now i want to count the no of rows having the same date and want to create a new column for this output.

is there any way to do this manipulation..?

if yes, pls help me to solve this issue.!! its very urgent.

Thanks & Regards, Prakruthi

Yes, there is. Have a look at the Python CSV module. That's very useful for reading CSV files.

Hi Experts,

I want to insert a serial number(row number) in to my csv file, but my csv file have headers so i need to insert serial number from second line. Here is my code..

f_in=open("testingcsv.csv","r") f_out=open("testing123.csv","w") i=1 for line in f_in: print(line.rstrip()) f_out.write(str(i)+" "+line) i=i+1 f_in.close() f_out.close()

Please help me to solve this issue!!! its urgent Thanks in advance :-)

just make a call to f_in.readline() before starting the for loop.

Hi Experts, I have csv file, in that some rows contains ",""(comma and double quotes) at the end of some rows. So i have to delete those particular characters (,").

I tried the following

import pandas as pd
tr=pd.read_csv('D:/python/testingcsv.csv')
del tr['col1']
print(tr)

But i the above code whole column is deleting, but i need to delete only the value which contain (,") character.

Please help me out to solve this issue..!

[edited by admin: formatting]

Are you getting a bunch of empty string or None's when there is an extra comma? You could use filter to filter out them.

If you are still having trouble, I would suggesting going to codementor for these sort of questions. You may find it super beneficial to get someone to walk you through it.