Forums

Cannot log to custom log file

I am trying to write logs to a custom log file, like so:

logging.basicConfig(filename='test.log', encoding='utf-8', level=logging.DEBUG)
logging.debug('foo')

but, despite the test.log file existing (in the same folder as my py script) it simply is not logging anything.

What gives?

How are you running the script? Is it possible that it crashes before the logging bit?

The script runs as a web app. Not sure how else to explain it sorry.

The error logs are flooded with tons of messages that simply don't make any sense to me (im new to python, and used to error logs from languages like PHP and JS)

Oh, and I tried logging when the app is running fine, so its not a case of the app crashing before logging anything

What is the most recent error that you see on the bottom of your error log?

Sorry, ignore the mention of the error logs, that was for something else.

The issue here is that logging doesn't work, and doesn't cause an error with the code i've pasted above.

I think the problem is with your working directory; this line:

logging.basicConfig(filename='test.log', encoding='utf-8', level=logging.DEBUG)

...does not mean "log to the file 'test.log' in the same directory as the file that contains this line of code" -- it means "log to the file 'test.log' in this process's current working directory". Those can be the same, but often won't be. By default the working directory for your code will be your home directory, /home/pablopython, and if you look there you'll probably see the log file that you're looking for.

If you want to log to a file in a particular directory, you can use a full filename like /home/pablopython/mysite/test.log in your call to basicConfig, or you can build a similar absolute path using Python's magic __file__ variable -- see this help page for more.

So, I can indeed see a "test.log" file in "/home/pablopython" but, it doesn't seem to be updating whenever I access the web app itself.