Forums

Is it better to develop my Flask App locally, then deploy, or to stick to PythonAnywhere's premade Flask App structure?

I am new to developing web applications, so I'm following tutorials... I've noticed that every tutorial's project layout (python package structure) is slightly different. Almost every time.

Now, I've already generated a flask_app.py through PythonAnywhere's app templates. I followed the PythonAnywhere tutorial for making a flask application (very cool, much wow), but I am confused about application structure.

If I develop an app locally (with the intention of deploying to PyAny), should I be using the project layout described in Flask's Documentation, or the project layout in PythonAnywhere's Flask tutorial? A secondary, related, question would be.. Would having my own project structure effect the security of my web application? Is there a convenient tutorial I can follow which describes how to keep my locally-developed application secure; before I deploy?

If it means that security measures remain intact, then I don't mind using the auto-generated application structure PythonAnywhere provides. I'm just feeling a bit stumped on how to expand beyond the Scratchpad tutorial... My web application is going to get pretty complex, have quite a few views, so any help or relevant information would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Flask's Project Layout: https://flask.palletsprojects.com/en/1.1.x/tutorial/layout/

PythonAnywhere Flask Tutorial: https://blog.pythonanywhere.com/121/

The great thing about Flask is how much flexibility it allows you in setting up your code's structure (unlike, for example, Django, which imposes a very rigid structure on you). But of course the downside to that is that the flexibility means that you have to decide on a structure, which is (as you say) quite confusing when you're getting started and don't know what the best one is!