Forums

dash.exceptions.NoLayoutException with Multi-Page Dash App

When trying to deploy a multi-page Dash app, I get the following error:

dash.exceptions.NoLayoutException: The layout was `None` at the time that `run_server` was called. Make sure to set the `layout` attribute of your application before running the server.

In my run_app.py file, I explicitly set the app.layout attribute as:

app.layout=index.layout

Where index.py routes the app to the different pages.

There's a thread on Plotly's site discussing this as well, which suggests adding the line:

web: gunicorn index:server

to the Procfile. I'm completely new to deploying these apps, but doing some reading, it seems that this isn't applicable to deployment on Python Anywhere, so I'm a bit stuck on this.

I have a simple dash app to recreate this issue here on Github.

Any advice for getting multi-page Dash apps deployed would be greatly appreciated!

I believe that our help page for dash does the equivalent of index:server already.

Right, which is why I'm not sure the proposed solutions on other sites are relevant here. For clarification, a single page dash app works just fine on deployment with this set up, it's just an issue going to multi-page and routing through the index.

I have tested it and the first example on this page works fine using the instructions that are on the help page that I linked to in my previous post, so it would appear that our help page works fine with multi-page dash applications.

I'm sorry, but this still isn't working for me using the example. It runs fine locally, but I continue to get that same error when I push it to PythonAnywhere. Single page apps are working fine, but this multi-page setup keeps failing. Would it be in the wsgi.py file? I added these lines at the end of the file:

from app import app
application = app.server

Working directory and source code are set to the app/ directory (/home/user/project/app).