Forums

Having trouble with Importing Flask-Mail

Hello,

I have an app that I'm trying to integrate Flask-Mail. I get the following errors when I restart my app.

2012-10-12 18:40:41,237 :Traceback (most recent call last):
2012-10-12 18:40:41,237 :ImportError: No module named mail

I used a bash console and used easy_install to install Flask-Mail and it now resides in:

/ > home > MorePyPlease > .local > lib > python2.7 > site-packages

A recent callback in my application was here (unrelated to this error):

File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/site-packages/Flask-0.9-py2.7.egg/flask/app.py", line 1344, in dispatch_request

which leads me to believe I am using Python2.7.. But I believe I started coding my appliation before you switched over. Just for the information :)

What am I doing wrong?

In my app I call it like this:

from flaskext.mail import Mail, Message
# create our little application :)
app = Flask(__name__)
app.config.from_object(__name__)
app.config.from_envvar('MINITWIT_SETTINGS', silent=True)

# setup Mail
mail = Mail(app)

Is there additional steps I need to take before it will recognize it as a flaskext? should I be importing it another way?

Okay. I've actually resolved this. Apparantly the readthedocs page for flask-mail is older than Flask-Mail and there was a module change.

You now import flask_mail not flaskext.mail.

Despite this, is there any reason that I can't use gmail as a mail handler? I noticed it's not on the "approved sites" list and emails aren't coming through but I'm getting no errors in my error log either.

Well, I got it this far: 2012-10-12 20:20:03,007 :smtplib.SMTPAuthenticationError: (535, '5.7.1 Please log in with your web browser and then try again. Learn more at\n5.7.1 https://support.google.com/mail/bin/answer.py?answer=78754 gx8sm8088776qab.12')

But now I am getting a 504 Gateway Timeout on my site.. Ergh.

Has anyone else had any success with flask-mail? I can't get it to work for the life of me running on here.