Forums

My PythonAnywhere credentials cannot access the Django admin control panel

Hello,

I am a Django newbie, so I am currently on a steep learning curve.

I have hit a brick wall at the initial stages of trying to set up the tutorial Django app. When I hit Part 2, 'The admin site' I tried to access the admin control panel using my PythonAnywhere username and password. As a result I got back an error saying I had to enter a correct staff username and password. Since there is no step in the instructions saying how to setup a staff user, am I not correct in assuming that my PythonAnywhere credentials should be working as the correct staff credentials by default? What am I missing here?

I've tried Googling for an answer, but the only comment that made any sense to me was that the web server had to have the correct path to the virtual environment variables. As near as I can tell though I have already set this correctly in the web application control panel as:

/home/vocabulator/.virtualenvs/django18

I am sure Django 1.8 is correctly installed, but I will run any diagnostic lines anyone wants me to run to demonstrate this.

I look forward to your response. In the mean time I will try to setup a localhost copy of Django to see if this will give me some clues as to what may be going on.

I got an answer on stack overflow and I will also combine it with some information I found in another location:

1. First you need to change directory (using 'cd <directory>') in the Bash console to the directory which contains the file 'manage.py'.

2. You then need to create a new superuser using:

$ python manage.py createsuperuser

This will prompt for a username (or leave blank if you want to use your PythonAnywhere one), email address and password.

Once set the admin control panel should be accessible.

In my opinion instructions to this effect should be in the introductory tutorial in Part 2.