Forums

Django site live at username.pythonanywhere.com, but only from some computers

Hi, my Django site at http://username.pythonanywhere.com/ is live, but only accessible from username.pythonanywhere.com If I try accessing it in browser by typing in www.username.pythonanywhere.com I see the default PA message:

Coming Soon! This is going to be another great website hosted by PythonAnywhere page.

I have a basic paid $5 package and my settings.py files has these allowed hosts:

ALLOWED_HOSTS = [
    'username.pythonanywhere.com',
    '.pythonanywhere.com',
    '.googleapis.com',
]

Should it be something like

ALLOWED_HOSTS = [
    'username.pythonanywhere.com',
    'www.username.pythonanywhere.com',
    '.pythonanywhere.com',
    '.googleapis.com',
]

Can someone give me a hand please? I'm new at this. Cheers, Jurgen

Hi Jurgen,

A slightly long answer for you, but I figured it was best to explain things properly rather than just give you the tl;dr version :-) But in case you just want the short version -- we only support web apps on your own custom domains and on yourusername.pythonanywhere.com. www.yourusername.pythonanywhere.com is not supported.

OK, here's the details:

The ALLOWED_HOSTS Django setting just tells it that it's OK if it receives requests for those sites. The only thing you should have in there for a site at jurgenizer.pythonanywhere.com is jurgenizer.pythonanywhere.com. The only way in which it's connected to the host names that are used to access your site is that those host names must appear in it. So, if X is a hostname for your site, it must appear in there, but X being in there doesn't make it a hostname for your site.