Forums

White List a Moving Target?

Hi, I'm new to PA and really enjoy it. Thanks for maintaining this service! Dropbox is on the whitelist, but I still get tunneling 403 errors. (I have a free account.) Any chance they have once again changed their API, or, could I get that error for another reason more specific to my code?

It's hard to say -- does the 403 error say which hostname it's trying to connect to?

The Traceback shows, as you might expect, a long series of cascading errors. However, the code is short and there is only one URL call.

"df=pandas.read_csv("https://www.dropbox.com/s/#deleted for privacy#/Weight%20Data%202020.txt?raw=1", delimiter=' ',names=["Month","Day","Weight","BC","Systolic","Diastolic","HR"])"

yields

"OSError: Tunnel connection failed: 403 Forbidden"

The same code runs without error from my local machine.

I can see a few attempts to access www.dropbox.com in the proxy logs and they were accepted by the proxy, as expected. It's possible that the error you're seeing is actually Dropbox returning the "not authorised".

Perhaps the link is getting garbled in the parser somehow? I'll check versions and such.

This is also buried in the traceback:

File "/usr/lib/python3.7/urllib/request.py", line 755, in http_error_302 return self.parent.open(new, timeout=req.timeout)

But I assumed the fundamental error was 403. Thanks for your help. If you don't think it is an access problem, I'll keep looking.