Forums

How to turn my PAW site into a 'staging' site and make a new 'production' copy?

I have a functioning Django site up at larapsodia.pythonanywhere.com, but I need to do a lot more development on it and I don't want to keep having the site go down while I'm working on it. So what I'd like to do is keep the existing site as a staging/development site, and make a production copy (hosted on PAW). How do I do that?

Some details:

• The site currently uses the SQLite database, which I obviously wouldn't want for the production site but I'm unsure how to change it
  • I currently have the "Hacker" plan but am willing to upgrade if necessary
  • I've bought a domain name for the production site (tunisiandictionary.org)
  • I'm using git for version control, but this is the first time I've used it, so I'm not familiar with using it to deploy the site or anything like that

And, most importantly: I'm an amateur/hobbyist, so step-by-step would be much appreciated.

Thanks!

PS — I have some ideas that I might go something like this:

1. Upgrade my account so I can have multiple apps
  2. Set up a new Django app
  3. Point my new domain name to that site, following the instructions here
  4. Do something with git, to copy the site into the new app and update it in the future (I'm really fuzzy about this part, but imagine that I can probably find a tutorial for that on git's site).

That's how I'm guessing I'll need to go about it, but I'd like some confirmation that I'm on the right track before I upgrade my account and begin a new app.

That's pretty much it. Here's little more detail where you're fuzzy:

1. Yes, you will need to upgrade
  2. Use git to copy your current site to new directory that you will deploy from (for more detailed instructions, we'll need to know more about your setup - are you using github or bitbucket or is your git only local?)
  3. Use "Manual configuration" to connect a new web app to the new directory (there are detailed instructions here)