Forums

unhandled exception, cant find similarly detailed issue.

I have my app uploaded to PA thru dropbox, and seem to have editted the wsgi file correctly, wherein it locates and recognizes the file, but when i try to open the app thru my webapp webpage it says unhandled exception. In my errorlog, this is what im told:

2012-09-09 19:16:45,569 :Traceback (most recent call last): 2012-09-09 19:16:45,572 : File "/var/www/wsgi.py", line 16 2012-09-09 19:16:45,572 : from KoC AR.py import app as application 2012-09-09 19:16:45,572 : ^ 2012-09-09 19:16:45,572 :SyntaxError: invalid syntax As this is the direct reason i got a PA subscription, does me no good if it wont work lol. anyone possibly help me resolve this issue, or at least weather or not it can be resolved? thx much

Syntax error? Sounds unusual. There are lots of Pythonistas on this board willing to help, so why don't you post the code and I (plus a2j and any of the developers who are watching) can have a look at it.

If you open a bash console you'll find a tool called pyflakes installed, which is quite helpful in tracking down syntax errors. If you just run pyflakes source.py on a Python file it'll generally give you a good hint where the problem lies.

If you're having trouble seeing why the syntax it finds is invalid, I'm sure someone here can help you.

Actually, I probably should have just read that stack trace more carefully. I just spotted what appears to be the following line of code:

from KoC AR.py import app as application

Python isn't going to like that. Firstly, you don't need to (and should not) add the .py extension when importing modules, it's implicitly added by Python. Secondly, it appears your module name has a space in it. Could you check this line of code and fix it? It's located on line 16 of your wsgi.py file.

For future reference, when you paste in a backtrace or log file then go and insert 4 spaces at the start of each line and it'll appear nicely formatted like this: