Forums

running student Python code in a sandbox

I'm an instructor looking to evaluate student code programmatically. Although PA for Educators lets me become any student user and run their code as that user, I want to do this programmatically, to validate their code solutions using my automated evaluation software.

I'd also like to consider the possibility of doing this for a non-student, that is someone who is using my web application to learn Python and has submitted code for automated evaluation.

In other words, I want to run untrusted code in a sandbox. I would like the code to have access to a limited collection of files as well.

I see the pynbox project (https://github.com/dsagal/pynbox) and this discussion (https://wiki.python.org/moin/SandboxedPython) but not sure if PA has its own solution for this.

thanks

David

Hi David, when you have a student, you can from your own account access their files at /home/studentusername/. So you could then say run some test file from your own account to validate their code?

For the web app submission part, that sounds a bit unsafe to let just anyone submit code to you and for you to run it- eg: what happens if they just run python code to delete your webapp? It would not be possible to sandbox that easily.

Hi Conrad,

thank you - I suppose that could work although if I run a student's code without looking at it myself, couldn't it also do damage to my web space since I am running their code as myself?

I guess what I'd like to be able to do is run the student's code as the student, or an untrusted user's code as the untrusted user (if they had a PythonAnywhere account)...

David

Yes- that could potentially trample your space.