Forums

how to place variables in separate file

Hi, I'm a beginner, so I think is quite easy question, anyway...

I've got telegram bot script, which has logic using arrays and dictionaries. In few words - when user send me reply to certain question array with question updates. When questions finished, if user accept - I update database.

Here is a problem. In payed account "hacker" 2 workers available, so I have my script running on 2 machines, and I don't control which one get reply from user. As I have 2 machines, I have 2 sets of variables, which comes to a real mess. If user's reply start with worker 1 (machine 1) and in the middle his reply go to worker 2, I have total destroy of logic.

May be is possible to have separate file, where I can hold my variables, and both workers will connect to this file when needed?

many thanks

Normally the best way to do that kind of thing is to use a SQL database instead of a file; databases are very good about handling concurrent changes from different running processes, while with a file you have to be really careful and write complex code to make sure that a change from one process doesn't overwrite a change from another. You can use MySQL on PythonAnywhere -- it's included in your account.

Is your bot running as a Flask app? If so, you might find it useful to create a throwaway free account and use it to go through our Flask and MySQL tutorial to get a feel about how your code should interact with a database.

thank you for reply! Yes bot is using flask + mysql. I think I made a stupid logic using all these dictionaries instead of mysql. I just uploaded all info to mysql when it was collected (its collected after several replies from user), but now I see is better to do it even at intermediate steps with mysql. Thank you