Forums

Slow CPU

Hey there. I'm trying to use MoviePy in order to automatically change some vids.

But I faced a problem - one video takes about 3-4 hours to complete. I'm checking the speed of writing the new file - its about 3-6 bit/s, which is, you know :)

At the moment, I'm not in the tarpit. So the question is - can I somehow upgrade my acc or is there any other possible way out?

its about 3-6 bit/s

holy crap

P.S i might be a little inaccurate in some things, im just a beginner looking for some help :s

I can see that you removed "daddy's" in ur post

Maybe this slow speed is caused by the fact that PythonAnywhere's servers have no GPU or hardware video encoding available

I can see that you removed "daddy's" in ur post

Awkward.

As for the GPU, as far as I'm concerned, MoviePy uses only CPU

what is the resolution/framerate/etc. of the video you are trying to render?

Res 1280x720, fps 24, bitrate 4000k, preset medium

please check out my website

I still need help, guys :)

Right, that does sound very slow indeed. Our disk storage is networked, so it's not as fast as a local SSD, but it certainly should be faster than that.

How big are the files -- both the input files and the output files?

Actually, as I said before, I might have understood something wrong - moviepy tells me its '5it/s' Maybe that's for iteration? I assume bit, but not 100% sure.

I concatenate two vids - 600KB and 160MB, output must be something around 200MB (also not sure because it never finished). ±70000 frames of output.

On my MacBook (i5 2,3GHz, 8Gb RAM) it goes with 30-35it/s

You're comparing a multi-thousand dollar machine that's not doing anything else against a part of a machine that costs you a few dollars a month. That's not really a fair competition. For comparison, a roughly equivalent machine to your MacBook would cost over $100 per month.