Forums

How much will PythonAnywhere cost?

I'm just a hobbyist and I'm worried that if I get too addicted to PythonAnywhere, I won't be able to justify the cost of using it when it ships or it will break the bank.

Will there be a hobbyist pay-tier? Or do you have some rough estimate of what it would cost per month?

Hi fionabunny,

It's good to hear that you think PythonAnywhere might be an addiction risk ;-)

We're planning to follow a pricing model a bit like Dropbox's or GitHub's, with a free tier that's enough for occasional use, a couple of cheap plans (say, $5-$10/mo) that cover people who (for example) want to host a non-trivial but not-high-traffic website, and then more expensive ones for heavy users (people who are doing whole-genome analysis, for example) based on the amount of CPU/disk they use.

Hope that's reassuring!

Giles

I like the sound of this pricing model. Can't wait to hear more details as they become available.

Well, here's what we're currently thinking (and the first version will go live as soon as we've managed to sort out some issues with PayPal):

We'll have three kinds of accounts: Free, Premium ($5/month) and Hosting ($10/month).

• Consoles: Free accounts will allow up to five, Premium and Hosting will allow up to 100. All accounts will allow console sharing.
  • Disk space: Free and Premium will give you 500Mb, Hosting will give you 2Gb.
  • Scheduled tasks: Free accounts will support one or two daily tasks (we're still deciding on the exact number), Premium and Hosting accounts will support up to 10 hourly or daily tasks.
  • Web applications: Free and Premium accounts will support hosting at your-username.pythonanywhere.com, and Hosting accounts will let you use your own domain.