Forums

Regarding Clarification of the Deploy Guide

I am a hopeless newbie, I don't mind admitting that, but that combined with my field of expertise, namely pedagogical method, somehow also makes me a prime candidate for finding pedagogical errors in literature such as this. Please don't take offense by my criticism; my intentions are quite pure, and I know that it's difficult writing a bulletproof guide to anything that has to do with computers :)

Anyway, I present to you my observations:

While https://help.pythonanywhere.com/pages/DeployExistingDjangoProject/ is mostly easy to follow, a couple of things could probably do with a spot of elaboration and perhaps a tiny audit, if you don't mind my interjection here. To make it a bit easier in terms of future reference, I've boiled the process down to 11 steps, including setting up staticfiles and environ vars and created a local document. However there's a bug in there, somewhere, and I need to kill that little son of a gun :)

I made the setup work once by fiddeling with the setup; I don't know if it was purely blind luck or simply persistance. 2nd time around, I'm somewhat wiser, yet I'm once again trudging along in the mud, blindly changing vars here and there in the hopes that I hit the golden combination at some point like last time.

In the Code section, you may opt to insert Source Code and Working Directory. Being a greenhorn, I'd like to know what Source Code is supposed to mean in this particular case. Working dir is clear enough (I think), that's the folder in which manage.py lives, right..?

In the "edit your WSGI" I'm confused by this little gem:

assuming your Django settings file is at '/home/myusername/mysite/mysite/settings.py'

I should refuse to guess as per the instructions found in Python's import self easter egg. What is the difference between 'mysite' and 'mysite'? Wouldn't it be better to have, say, 'myusername/my_project_name/my_site/settings.py' or something to that effect?