Forums

Tutorial for the web app function?

I'm new to python and working through a book. I've reached the stage where I need a web server that can process python. For reasons I won't go into here I don't have the ability to set up IIS or Apache locally so I tried the web app function here and quickly hit a brick wall. I don't know what the packages are and tried a basic config which let me set up static pages, but instead of running the .py file it just cats it. Is there a how to guide available that doesn't assume familiarity with django etc (trying to learn one thing at a time)? Flipping ahead in the book I don't think I'll need anything too crazy, just the ability to host html files and python scripts. Thanks

For simple stuff like that, Flask is a good option. We do have a beginner-focused tutorial on setting up Flask on PythonAnywhere -- it goes into some depth with database configuration etc., but that doesn't come in until about halfway through -- the initial stages just walk you through getting a website up and running that can call some Python code when a specific button is clicked. So if you do just those first few steps and then stop when it gets on to the database stuff, you'll probably be in a good position to adapt the code to run functions from your script instead of the "add a comment to a list" stuff that it does.