Forums

App imported but not used

Hey,

it's my first time deploying a Flask app. I went through tutorial and it seems like I've sucessfully cloned my GH repo, established a virtualenv (although I'm not sure in what location should it be created and if if does even matter?), but when it comes to configuration of WGSI file, it gives a warning that app variable has been imported but not used. My app runs, but instead of actual content, it returns a default "Hello from Flask!" message. Any thoughts?

The warning that the application variable is imported but not used is good/normal. That's because we will import your wsgi file and access the application variable to run your website!

Have you reloaded your webapp?

Yep, I have.

Is it possible that I didnt link my WSGI to the code corectly? As it seems not to recognize it at all.

The app is structured as a package and the actual structure is like this: https://github.com/JakNowy/FlaskWebsite. Source code path is set to "/home/Kobe/FlaskWebsite/ ".

WGSI file:

import sys
project_home = u'/home/Kobe/FlaskWebsite/'
if project_home not in sys.path:
    sys.path = [project_home] + sys.path

from FlaskWebsite import app as application  # noqa

EDIT: The error logs say that there's no module named FlaskWebsite.py. Did I mess something with WSGI?

It looks like you've fixed the problem now -- your site is up and running, at least. Did you work out what the issue was?

Looking at the error log, the last message was this:

2018-08-02 10:10:47,378: Error running WSGI application
2018-08-02 10:10:47,379: ModuleNotFoundError: No module named 'FlaskWebsite.py'
2018-08-02 10:10:47,379:   File "/var/www/kobe_pythonanywhere_com_wsgi.py", line 16, in <module>
2018-08-02 10:10:47,379:     from FlaskWebsite.py import app as application  # noqa
2018-08-02 10:10:47,379: ***************************************************
2018-08-02 10:10:47,380: If you're seeing an import error and don't know why,