Forums

jQuery and Web2py

I'm a noobie to pythonanywhere, so forgive what maybe is a noobie question...

I have a web2py app that uses a jQuery/ajax combination to do something. The web2py view has a link on it that uses the web2py ajax ":eval" capability. The method called by the ajax function builds a jQuery and returns it. The view should then evaluate the jQuery and execute it. The jQuery is supposed to populate a DIV on the view, using the jQuery html function.

This all works perfectly when i run the app on my local development machine. When I run it on pythonanywhere, the jQuery is built correctly, but rather than evaluating it, the jQuery string simply gets written to a new screen; all that appears is the jQuery.

Is there some quirk of jQuery on pythonanywhere that I'm missing? Any help will be greatly appreciated.

I'm no expert on Ajax/jQuery, but what do you mean by "The method called by the ajax function builds a jQuery and returns it.".

I thought mostly one returns plain text, JSON, HTML or XML from the Ajax controller function, and then use jQuery to insert it in a DIV - is that what you're doing?

I guess you might be seeing a differnce between versions, e.g. of Web2py or a library you're using.

Jim

Another possibility is that the content-type is incorrect. Compare the network traffic in your browser developer tools and see how the request and response differ between your development machine and PythonAnywhere. There are probably some clues there.

Some more detail: The web2py ajax function calls a method. The method builds and returns a string that contains a valid jQuery function:

tbl = "jQuery('#options_list').html('Example jQuery String');"
return tbl

This should inject the string "Example jQuery String" into the view division with an id of "options_list" and does so on my local development machine. Running on pythonanywhere, it returns a blank screen with only "jQuery('#options_list').html('Example jQuery String');" on it.