Forums

multiple apps on one or sub domains

Hi, I have googled this for a few days and am not coming up with answers or even anyone with the same problem which says to me that either what I am trying to do is mundanely obvious or I am trying to do something that should not be done. I am pretty new to PA. Anyway here goes.... I currently have a test app running on my own domain on PA. I have it in my head that I want to compartmentalize functionality by creating another app, which I want to serve up urls's under my domain. So basically I want to have more than one app serving up responses to url's under my domain, or sub-domains thereof. Or in another way more than one app installed in my main project serving up responses under my domain. Is this the right approach and if so how do I do it in PA? When I try to set up a new web app I it wont let me do it with the same domain as my already set-up app so must I set it up as a sub-domain? If so what is the best way? It might clarify that one reason I want to do it like this is that I want to use the same extended user model from my main project across these two (or more) apps for Authorisation of sessions. Also I like using one app as a development fork to test stuff. Anyway, any clarification appreciated from anyone. Thanks in advance.

What web framework are you using? If you are using django, you "compartmentalise functionality" by just having multiple django apps within the same project.

In terms of doing dev, you would not be able to do it on the same webapp- imagine what happens if your dev code causes your server to error / your database to be wiped etc. You will definitely want a separate webapp for that. Also you will have to keep reloading your dev webapp to see the changes.

You can certainly setup two separate webapps- dev.mydomain.com and www.mydomain.com, and use one for dev/staging.

I am using Django. Aha! I think I may have been confusing django apps with PA web apps. Thanks for the clarification. :)