Forums

Always crashing when On profit..

Hey Python anywhere, are you somehow related to Poloniex? I just notice my program is always crashing when I am "on Profit" but console is not crashing or working properly when I am loosing. I am using console to start with here mkvirtualenv my-virtualenv --python=python3.6. Then run my program there.

You cannot tell me it is my program has problem because my console is not crashing when I am loosing or when the price is going down and sometimes it is working properly when the price is up but usually console is crashing.

Sometimes console servers have to be restarted for maintenance, or crash due to load -- for that reason we recommend that you don't use them for programs that you want to keep running constantly. This help page explains how to set up a scheduled task so that your program keeps running forever.

I am new to python and I dont know how to put my code there. My codes directory is here /home/myusername/myfolder/my_func.py

How can I set lock_id? Is the task name equivalent to my_func? Something like this?

lock_id = "myusername.my_func"?

How can I insert it? Something like this?

import logging

import socket

import sys

lock_socket = None   
def is_lock_free():

global lock_socket
    lock_socket = socket.socket(socket.AF_UNIX, socket.SOCK_DGRAM)
    try:
        lock_id = "myusername.my_func" 
        lock_socket.bind('\0' + lock_id)
        logging.debug("Acquired lock %r" % (lock_id,))
        return True
    except socket.error:
        # socket already locked, task must already be running
        logging.info("Failed to acquire lock %r" % (lock_id,))
        return False

def my_func():

x = 10
    print("Value inside function:",x)

if not is_lock_free():

sys.exit()

my_func()

Kindly walk me through on this

[edited by admin: formatting]

yup- something like that sounds correct. lock_id is just a unique identifier, that we suggest to be username.function_name

It could be anything.