Forums

Long running tasks

I have been trying to implement the piece of code that is referenced here :

http://help.pythonanywhere.com/pages/LongRunningTasks

Not succeeding so far.

I'm a python newbie - can anyone tell me how /where to access the "log" information that I guess this code generates ? (from logging.debug, and logging.info ?).

=================================================

try:
    lock_id = "planetcooler.getCO2tonnesPVcombiV3"
    lock_socket.bind('\0' + lock_id)
    logging.debug("Acquired lock %r" % (lock_id,))
    return True
except socket.error:
    # socket already locked, task must be running
    logging.info("Failed to acquirelock %r" % (lock_id,))
    return False

============================================

Thanks for any pointers.......

How are you running the code? If it's from inside a scheduled task, you'll see a link to the log next to the task on the "Schedule" page.

I'm just "running' it !!

It's not a scheduled task.

Is this the way to go?

I just want it to restart automatically after a failure - for whatever reason.

You need to run it using a scheduled task. The way it works is that once an hour, when the task is kicked off, it checks to see if another copy is already running. If there is one, it just exits. If there isn't, it starts. Check out the help page again for more details.

Hi - thanks for this.

I am now using the Scheduler to launch a copy of getCO2tonnesPVcombiV3 every hour. I then go in once a day and manually kill the excess copies off. This is a sledgehammer approach! But works.

I can see how your example of Long Running tasks is meant to operate - but my code falls over. For some reason the "from xxxx import yyyyy" is failing to incorporate a method. I am probably using incorrect terminology / directory structure or something.............?

My version of your Longrunning task (viz Eternal.py):

!/usr/bin/python2.7

import logging import socket import sys