Forums

'chromedriver' executable may have wrong permissions

I am trying to use selenium along with chrome web driver .chrome web driver .exe is already uploaded on the code files . How can I fix the following problem ?

self.service.start() File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/selenium/webdriver/common/service.py", line 76, in start os.path.basename(self.path), self.start_error_message) selenium.common.exceptions.WebDriverException: Message: 'chromedriver' executable may have wrong permissions. Please see https://sites.google.com/a/ chromium.org/chromedriver/home

I'm pretty sure Chrome doesn't work in our virtualisation system. We have a version of Firefox installed that does work, though.

Does it still not work?

No, we have a new experimental virtualization system. We can switch your account over to it. Headless chrome works there.

fjl, can you switch my account to the experimental virtualization system, please?

fjl, I am a beginner in programming, so just wondering that switching to the experimental virtualization system will not cause problems for the working parts of my web app, right? If not, then please switch me the experimental virtualization system as well.

@ipala5, it shouldn't cause issues, but it's still experimental and we haven't identified all of the issues it may have. So, while it shouldn't cause any issues with your web app, it may. Let us know if you'd still like to go ahead with the switch.

@glenn, I also would like to switch to the experimental virtualization system.

It is already enabled for your account. I believe you've asked for it before and we enabled it.

Hi glenn, could you please switch me over to the experimental virtualization system? Also, could you inform me when its done. Thanks

@ipala5 -- sure, no problem -- that's done now. To use Chrome, you'll need to upgrade Selenium for your account -- for example, if you're using Python 3.7, run this in Bash:

pip3.7 install --user --upgrade selenium