Forums

Error importing Middleware

I get this error:

File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/django/core/handlers/base.py", line 47, in load_middleware
2013-12-10 14:32:14,627 :    raise exceptions.ImproperlyConfigured('Error importing middleware %s: "%s"' % (mw_module, e))
2013-12-10 14:32:14,627 :django.core.exceptions.ImproperlyConfigured: Error importing middleware django.middleware.clickjacking: "No module named clickjacking"

I'm new to all of this, so I am not really sure where my error is. I'd appreciate any help. Thanks!

[edited by admin: formatting]

Hmm, that looks like you might be trying to run a Django app set up for Django version 1.4 or higher in a default Django web application, which is 1.3.7.

I think your best bet would be to use a virtualenv. There are instructions on how to do that on this help page.

I created a simple django web app in the terminal of a virtual machine that runs ubuntu. It runs locally. I then pushed it to github, and pulled it back to pythonanywhere. Is there no way to get it to run on pythonanywhere?

Yes, it should work fine if you set up a virtualenv. The reason it's not super-easy is because the virtual machine is running a newer default version of Django than PythonAnywhere is.

But if you follow the instructions on the page I linked to down the the bit where it says "Start a new django project", then skip the Django project creation bit (because you've already got a project) and pick up the instructions again from the bit where it says "Now edit your wsgi file", everything should work fine.

Ok, great! Thank you.

Ok, I set-up the virtualenv. And I get this error:

File "/var/www/ashmbrown_pythonanywhere_com_wsgi.py", line 2, in <module>
2013-12-10 17:23:33,289 :    execfile(activate_this, dict(__file__=activate_this))
2013-12-10 17:23:33,289 :NameError: name 'execfile' is not defined

Here is my wsgi file:

activate_this = '/home/ashmbrown/.virtualenvs/django15/bin/activate_this.py'